Pearly Penile Papules (PPP)

PPP, officially known as Hirsuties papillaris genitals, are small fleshy bumps that form at the corona of a penis. They are given such name because they often appear in small rows like strings of pearls.

PPP is not a disease though this condition is very common and affects approximately 25% of men worldwide. Some studies showed that they are more common in uncircumcised men. However, you have absolutely nothing to worry about since they do not cause any pain, itching or burning. They cannot be spread through sexual contact.

Causes

What are the causes?

There is no known cause of PPP. They are considered a normal finding and they are totally harmless.

What are the symptoms?

The pearl-like fleshy bumps or lesions 1 to 3 mm in diameter most commonly develop on men in their 20s and 30s, and will fade and decrease in frequency when men get older. They do not cause any pain, itching or burning. They are not contagious. They cannot be spread through sexual contact since they are not a sexually transmitted disease (STD).

Consequences

It is unsettling for any men to discover any unfamiliar bumps on his penis. Though the condition is not asymptomatic and not a STD, it is often mistaken for genital warts causing worry and psychological distress to men who develop it. Many are kept in the dark for information, such as its effect and treatment, is limited online.

Some men learn to live with it after learning the condition is not harmful, while others avoid sexual contact out of embarrassment and fear of rejection. PPP can affect self-esteem and social interaction in some men. They also cause an “unpleasant sensation” in others.

5 Common Misconceptions
  1. Genital Warts – They are not genital warts. They are not a sexually transmitted disease. They may appear infected, but they are not.
  2. Male Yeast Infection – They are not yeast infection (e.g. candidiasis). Symptoms of such infection are: red-looking glans, white and thick urine, some or severe itching on glans or penises.
  3. Fordyce Spots – PPP are more like Fordyce Spots. However, the former are for ectopic sebaceous glands, while the latter are skin outgrowths.
  4. Common Warts – They are not common warts and so you should not try to remove them with wart removal products or you may risk getting an infection.
  5. Other STDs – They are not sexually transmitted disease, like gonorrhea and others.
Treatment

Many try to “cure” their PPP using topical creams, wart removal products and home remedies due to various reasons, such as cost and shyness. Some try to pick them or squeeze them. However, none of them are proven effective. It is recommended that you stay away from these methods as they will not get rid of PPP, but often irritate the area.

It is possible to remove the bumps for cosmetic reasons. At this point, the most effective treatment is removal through Carbon Dioxide (CO2) Laser.

CO2 Laser Treatment Removal: this method targets fleshy bumps at the corona of the penis and removes them using a carbon dioxide laser without causing damages to the surrounding skin. Before surgery, an anesthetic cream or an injection of local anesthetic is used to numb the penis for pain control. Patients can return to most normal activities immediately, while sexual activity usually after 2 weeks (varies among patients).

Before

After

Photo Courtesy of Dr. Groff, board-certified Dermatologist

什么是阴茎珍珠疹

阴茎珍珠疹(Hirsuties papillaris genitals)是出现在龟头边缘,与肤色相同的小丘疹。因它们经常排列整齐如珍珠串般出现而得名。

即使这种情况很常见,并影响到全球约25%的男士,阴茎珍珠疹不是一种疾病。据资料显示,阴茎珍珠疹较常出现于未割包皮的男士身上。由于它不造成任何疼痛,瘙痒或烧灼感觉,所以你绝对可以放心。再者,这并不是一种传染病,不会透过性接触而传播。

成因及征状

成因
直至现时,引起阴茎珍珠状丘疹的原因尚未明确。因属于一种良性症狀,所以对人体无碍。

征状
阴茎珍珠疹最常出现于20至30岁的男士身上,珍珠般的小丘疹,直径在1至3毫米之间。小丘疹会随着年龄增长而消失及减少出现的次数。它们不会造成任何疼痛,瘙痒或灼痛感觉,不会传染,更因为不是一种性传播疾病,所以不会透过性接触而传播。

后果

如发现阴茎上出现异常的丘疹,任何男士都会感到不安。虽然没有症状,又不是性传播疾病,但它经常被误认为是生殖器疣,令患者感到忧虑及困扰。此外,由于网上找到的资料非常有限,如影响及疗程等,所以多数人对阴茎珍珠疹的了解并不多。

有些男士得知阴茎珍珠疹对人体无碍后,便学习接受它,但有些则因尴尬或害怕被拒绝而避免性接触。总而言之,阴茎珍珠疹可以对自尊和社交造成影响,亦可能导致某些患者不适。

最常见的5个误解
  1. 它不是生殖器疣。肉眼看似受感染,但事实并非如此。
  2. 它不是酵母菌感染(如念珠菌)。酵母菌感染的症状通常如下:龟头呈红色、出现白色混沌的尿液及龟头、阴茎出现轻微至剧烈瘙痒。
  3. 它跟福代斯斑点 (Fordyce Spots) 较为相似。然而,前者是由皮脂腺异位引起,而后者则是生长在皮肤外的小肿块。
  4. 它不是寻常疣 (Common Warts),所以你不应尝试市面上一般除疣产品,以免因此而发炎。
  5. 它并不是性传播疾病,如淋病等。
治疗

多数人因各种原因,如费用或羞怯,尝试使用外用药膏,除疣产品和家庭疗法。有些人更尝试挑或挤珍珠疹。然而,这些方法都是没有效用的,不能彻底地清除珍珠疹,更会令受影响部位受感染。

现在,最有效的方法是通过二氧化碳(CO2)激光治疗去除珍珠疹,以改善患者外观的问题。

CO2激光治疗:此方法使用二氧化碳激光器去除珍珠疹,不会对周围的皮肤造成损害。手术前,医生会使用麻醉霜或局部注射麻醉药以减少阴茎所承受的痛楚。手术后,患者可以立即进行正常活动,而通常两星期后便可进行性行为(因人而异)。

手術前

手术后

Photo Courtesy of Dr. Groff, board-certified Dermatologist